Site Formation and Infrastructure Works for the Development
of ex­-Cha Kwo Ling Kaolin Mine Site (Phase 2)

Project Details

The project includes site formation and infrastructure works for public housing development

Year 2000
Anticipated Completion Date
0 Years
Commencement Date of the Work :
31 July 2023

Background for the Project

In the Policy Address in year 2019, 2020 and 2021, the Hong Kong SAR Government has put forward the redevelopment of three urban squatter areas including Cha Kwo Ling into high-density public housing. In order to speed up the land resumption and build a new community centered on public housing, a development plan that includes site formation and ancillary infrastructure works will be needed.
The project will first begin with land study, detailed design, site formation and infrastructure work conducted by CEDD, and followed by public housing development to be conducted by related departments.
The works mainly comprise:
(a) site clearance and formation, as well as construction of related retaining walls and slopes;
(b) construction of a carriageway with associated footpaths to connect Ko Ling Road and the development of ex-Cha Kwo Ling Kaolin Mine Site (Phase 2), and associated improvement works for nearby roads; and
(c) associated ancillary works including drainage works, sewerage works, waterworks and roadside greening works.

About Kaolin Mine Site

Kaolin mite site operation began from 1903 to 1983; excavated kaolin was widely used in making ceramics locally as well as exports to Japan for the manufacture of high-grade porcelain ware, dinner sets and high voltage insulators. Cha Kwo Ling Village was also famous for granite bedrock; the former Legislative Council Building which was opened in 1912, houses, schools and Tin Hou Temple in Cha Kwo Ling Village, and the Sacred Heart Cathedral in Guangzhou are also made of granite mined from quarries at Cha Kwo Ling.

Where does the name ‘Cha Kwo Ling’ come from?

Cha Kwo Ling was the centre of administration in Kwun Tong area from Qing Dynasty to the early days of the Republic of China

More

Origin of the Name

Cha Kwo Ling was the centre of administration in Kwun Tong area from Qing Dynasty to the early days of the Republic of China. Abundant parasol leaf trees were found in the area, and the leaves of the tree are used in making the traditional Hakka snack ‘Cha Kwo’, hence the villages started to name the tree ‘Cha Kwo Tree’.

A Little History

According to the military map dated in 1922, Cha Kwo Ling was referred to ‘Rocky Hill’. The height of Cha Kwo Ling at that time was 497ft, which was two times higher than now. Cha Kwo Ling, Sai Tso Wan, Ngau Tau Kok and Lei Yue Mun, were collectively known as the Four Hills of Kowloon, and was famously known as stone quarrying sites excavating high quality granite and kaolin clay. After World War Two, the Four Hills become more prosperous and Cha Kwo Ling was chosen as site for construction of oil tanks by Asiatic Petroleum Company (South China) Limited in 1947; and there was also development of mine site by Hong Kong Clays and Kaolin Company. In 1955, an extensive reclamation development started to take place and has since then speeded up the industrialization of Cha Kwo Ling and its adjacent area.

Site Formation and Infrastructure Works for the Development

of ex­-Cha Kwo Ling Kaolin Mine Site

前茶果岭高岭土矿场发展(第二期)
之工地平整及基础设施工程

项目详情

此项目将会进行工地平整及相关基础设施工程配合兴建公营房屋发展

2000
预计项目完工日期
0
项目动工日期:2023年7月31日

项目背景

香港特别行政区政府在2019 年、2020 年及2021 年的施政报告中,提出重建三个市区寮屋区,以高密度发展增加市区公营房屋的供应,而计划重建的土地当中就包括了茶果岭村。为了加快发展用地,并建设以公营房屋为主的新社区,此计划会于相应区域进行土地平整和配套基础设施工程。
发展计划先由土木工程拓展署进行相应的勘察、详细设计及实施土地平整及基础设施工程,之后会将项目交由相关机构兴建公营房屋及各项辅助设施。
项目工程主要包括:
(a) 进行工地清理和平整,及建造相关的护土墙和斜坡;
(b) 建造一条行车道 连相关行人路 , 以连接高岭道至 前茶果岭高岭土矿场 第二期发展项目 ,并在附近道路 进行相关改善工程;以及
(c) 进行相关附属工程,包括排水、排污、供水及路旁绿化工程。

有关高岭土矿场

茶果岭早于1903年至1983年已有高岭土开采,岀产的高岭土用于本地制造陶瓷之外,更会出口日本,用于制造高级瓷器,餐具和高压绝缘子。另外,茶果岭亦以盛产花岗石闻名;一九一二年启用的旧最高法院大楼、茶果岭村内早期落成的房屋、学校、天后庙等建筑物,甚至远至广州的天主教圣心教堂,也是由茶果岭采的花岗石所建成。

茶果岭名称由来 ??

清末民初年间,茶果岭为观塘区的管治中心,因山上长有大量茶果树而得名。

更多资料

名稱由來

清末民初年間,茶果嶺為觀塘區的管治中心,因山上長有大量茶果樹而得名。茶果樹實為學名血桐的植物,因每次蒸茶果時需要大量血桐的樹葉,新界居民稱血桐樹為茶果樹。

小歷史簡介

在1922年的軍部地圖,茶果嶺被標示為Rocky Hill,意即「石丘」。地圖中標示茶果嶺的高度為497英尺,約為現時高度的兩倍。茶果嶺曾與牛頭角、茜草灣及鯉魚門合稱九龍四山,為人手開採的石礦場,曾出產花崗岩和高嶺土。第二次世界大戰後,茶果嶺及鄰近村落如鯉魚門、茜草灣及牛頭角等處日漸繁盛,1947年亞細亞火油公司在茶果嶺覓地興建油庫,另有香港磁泥有限公司建立工場及石礦場,1955年左右觀塘進行大規模填海計劃,加速了茶果嶺及鄰近地帶的工業化。

前茶果岭高岭土矿场发展

工地平整及相关基础设施工程